Baltimore Comic-Con 2015

I was fortunate enough to make it to the Baltimore Comic-Con this weekend.  It was a great day of meeting stars, creators, and some cosplayers.

This was the first year (that I am aware of) with celebrity guests.  I was able to make the Paul Blackthorne panel.  He plays Detective Lance on Arrow.  I had no idea he’s actually British.  He handled questions from the audience with a self-deprecating humor.

BCC also featured Ming-Na Wen, best known as Agent May on Agents of S.H.I.E.L.D. and the voice of Mulan. When repeatedly asked what she could reveal about the upcoming season, she jokingly said only that it started this week and that she can’t say anymore because “they” are listening.  She also made it clear that she would love any part in the new Star Wars movies, which would complete the new Disney trifecta (Disney, Marvel, and Star Wars).

Ming-Na Wen

A very blurry picture of Ming-Na Wen

My favorite comic is the 1998 DCU Holiday Bash.  It has stories featuring most of my favorite characters by most of my favorite creators.  I decided to try to get every creator sign a copy.

This trip my main objective was to get Brian Stelfreeze’s signature.  He is the artist on my favorite story in the book, a Nightwing/Oracle story.  He was very personable.  He talked about how, with well-known characters, the most fun stories can be the interpersonal ones (such as this story).

Brian Stelfreeze

Brian Stelfreeze

I also met Russ Heath, the artist on a Chuck Dixon Sgt. Rock story in this book.  He has had a long career and had his own panel at the Con.

Russ Heath

Russ Heath

I had Karl Story sign the book a few years ago but didn’t have the idea of taking the creator’s photos until afterwards.  He was nice enough to let me fix that error.

Karl Story

Karl Story

I also met John Ostrander, who, among other things, wrote the story that transitioned Batgirl to Oracle (Batman Chronicles .  He told me that this was one of the last stories he worked on with his wife, Kim Yale, before her death due to breast cancer.

John Ostrander

John Ostrander

Lastly, I got to meet Marv Wolfman, who is the co-creator of my favorite character, Nightwing.

Marv Wolfman

Marv Wolfman

I picked up some comics in the dollar bin.  My favorite was a tie-in to the Captain America: The Winter Soldier movie called Homecoming.  It has a fun story with Cap and Black Widow from before the movie, and also has a reprint of the Falcon’s first appearance (image from marvel.com).

Homecoming

While I didn’t find any Fighter Pods (and frankly, hadn’t expected to), I did pick up an old Burger King Happy Meal version of the Jedi Starfighter.  The color looks like Obi-Wan Kenobi’s ship.  I never picked up the actual Fighter Pod Jedi Starfighter and was always bugged that it was so much bigger than the X-Wing.  This version has the small, rounded style of the Fighter Pods and is the approximately in scale with the X-Wing.  I also picked up a few Heroclix but they are for future projects and will save those for later posts.

BK Jedi Starfighter

BK Jedi Starfighter

There were some very creative cosplayers I saw but since this post is getting really long, I will share those photos in another post.

Leave a Reply

